Skip to content

Student Travel Award

IEEE TCHPC Student Travel Awards for IEEE/ACM CCGrid 2018 Conference


About 15 student travel awards will be provided to CCGrid 2018 attendees, sponsored by TCHPC and NSF. The award will fund the costs of student's hotel accommodations and flight ticket (from U.S Carrier only). Expenses that are not eligible for reimbursement include registration, taxi, and meals. The amount of the grants will be based in part on student travel requirements and on availability of funds, with total up to $1000 USD for each student. Notice of grants awarded will be made prior to the conference. The grants will be distributed post-conference in the form of reimbursements against actual travel and accommodations expenses submitted by the student (Students will be reimbursed for expenses directly incurred by them and receipts are required for reimbursement). Applicants are encouraged to make their travel plans without depending on notification from the committee to ensure that lowest cost flights and accommodations have been secured.

All students who are funded out of the travel grant will be required to present a poster about their Ph.D. research.

Applicant Eligibility

  • The student must be enrolled in a graduate program at an accredited U.S. institution in good standing. Recipients need not be a US citizen or a permanent resident.
  • The student has registered to attend CCGrid 2018.
  • The student is required to present a poster about their Ph.D. research.
  • The student will need to participate in a meet-and-greet session targeted for travel grant awardees, and attend at least one of the following programs, the main technical conference, a workshop, the posters, and the Scale challenge, so as to gain the best value out of the conference.
  • The student will submit a trip report describing the experience at the conference and the benefit of attending, which is required for travel reimbursement.

Application Materials

Complete the information requested in the online form available here. Use the Submit button at the bottom of the form to send your application to the CCGrid 2018 travel award committee. Note the following:

  • The completed application form should include a link to a single pdf file of the student's vita. The information for your advisor will be used to obtain your advisor’s official endorsement -- an email will be sent to your advisor with a request to endorse your travel.

The student's advisor should send a signed letter of endorsement, including:

  • Confirmation that the student is a graduate student in good standing;
  • The suitability of the CCGrid 2018 program material to the student's research area;
  • Ways this particular student would benefit from attendance at the conference;
  • The strengths and potential contributions of the student; and
  • Availability of funds from other sources.

Important Dates

  • March 22, 2018: Applications due
  • March 31, 2018: Notification of awards
  • June 1, 2018: All documents (including receipts and trip report) for reimbursement due

Note that

1) The student will submit a trip report describing the experience at the conference, which is required for travel reimbursement.

2) The reimbursements may take up to two months.

Selection Process and Criteria

The following explicit criteria will be used in the selection process:

  • Priority will be given to students with accepted papers and their department will partially fund them for the registration.
  • Travel grants will not change the requirement that there should be at least one paid full registration per accepted paper.  
  • Diversity shall be considered for attendees from the main technical conference, workshops, doctorial symposium, posters, and Scale challenge.
  • Special considerations will also be made for student participants who are underrepresented minorities (i.e., African-Americans, Hispanics, Native Americans, and Native Pacific Islanders) and/or women, coming from diverse institutions.

If you have any questions, please contact the awards committee chair, Dr. Lena Mashayekhy (